Can you get a DUI expunged in New Jersey?

On Behalf of | Dec 10, 2021 | Criminal Defense |

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charges usually stay on a New Jersey driver’s record for a minimum of ten years. Many drivers look for ways to expunge their record of DUIs for insurance purposes or otherwise.

What to know about DUIs in New Jersey

First-time DUI offenses in New Jersey will result in fines ranging from $250 to $400, depending on the offense. You might also have to do between twelve hours and 30 days of jail time and see surcharges on your insurance record for a while.

These surcharges can be a minimum of $1,000 for the first three years after your DUI. For repeat offenses, this surcharge – and related punishments – might go up.

DUI charges aren’t considered criminal offenses in New Jersey – it’s a traffic violation. This means it won’t show up on any background checks, but it also means it can’t be expunged from your record.

How do I get a DUI expunged from my record?

Since DUIs aren’t considered criminal offenses, they can’t be expunged or removed. Instead, they’ll automatically come off your driving record after ten years – as long as you don’t have any repeat offenses.

The best way to ensure the DUI will come off your driving record in that ten-year time frame is to obey all of the traffic laws and keep your driving record clean. For every year that you’re able to stay violation-free, three points will be removed from your license for other traffic offenses.

You can also enroll in a driving course to improve your chances of being violation-free and clearing traffic violation points from your record. While DUIs stay on your record for a minimum of 10 years, the best way to expunge the DUI is to keep a safe driving record sooner.