A DUI conviction in New Jersey can have a negative impact on many areas of your life, including your job, finances and freedom. Here’s a look at the possible consequences of getting a DUI in New Jersey as well as the laws that apply.
Consequences of DUI charge
Penalties for DUI charges mainly depend on the number of times the court has found you guilty of the crime. If you are a first-time offender, the judge may sentence you to up to 30 days in jail, 100 hours of community service and a $500 fine. A second-time conviction could lead to 90 days of incarceration, 300 hours of community service and a $1,000 fine. Furthermore, the court can suspend your driver’s license and install an ignition interlock device for up to six months.
Subsequent offenses could lead to up to 10 years of license suspension, 180 days of jail time, 90 days of community service and at least a $1,000 fine. On top of that, you may face other penalties for road crimes committed during DUI, like reckless driving, causing an accident and homicide.
How long does a DUI stay on your record in New Jersey?
A DUI conviction will stay on your record for five years. However, if convicted of driving while intoxicated, or DWI, the record could stay for up to 10 years.
Can you get your license back after conviction?
In most cases, the court will suspend your driver’s license following a DUI conviction. However, you may be able to get your license back after completing a driver’s education course and paying a restoration fee. You’ll need to ask about the specifics of your case to determine whether you are eligible to have your license reinstated.
Besides the above penalties, a DUI charge can also affect your custody case, employment, marriage and almost every other sector in your life. If you want to avoid a conviction, take measures to fight the case accordingly because the consequences are significant.