Reckless driving in New Jersey

by | May 21, 2021 | Criminal Defense

When a person drives with a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others, it is called reckless driving and it is serious. Drivers may be cited for this traffic offense if they do not obey driving laws and when they have caused an accident or property damage as a result.

Examples of reckless driving may include driving 25 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, racing, passing a vehicle dangerously, running red lights, failing to stop at stop signs or fleeing a police officer.


In New Jersey, the driver may be jailed for up to 60 days and may have to pay a fine for the first offense, usually between $50.00 and $200.00. For the second offense, the driver can be jailed for more than three months and may have to pay a higher fine of $100.00 to $500.00.

Defensive driving course

The driver may also have 5 points added to his or her driver’s license for reckless driving. If the driver successfully completes a defensive driving course, he or she may have 2 points removed. The court will determine whether the driver is eligible to take the course.

The course can take several hours to complete and requires drivers to take a final exam. It also must be completed within a certain period of time.

If the driver fails the exam, the court and the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will decide if he or she can take it again. Drivers who have too many points may have their driver’s license revoked or suspended.

If a driver is cited for reckless driving, an experienced attorney can help.