Most people are familiar with the term assault and assault charges but may not know exactly what that refers to. Assault charges are serious criminal charges that can leave an accused individual facing jail time and other potential penalties and consequences. For that reason, individuals who have been charged with assault should know what they are facing.
The basics of assault charges
Basically, an assault involves the threat of bodily harm. Assault does not require actual contact. Because of this, assault charges can be based on threats of bodily harm that are made that are perceived and believed to be credible. Assault charges can be charged different based on where they are charged and also if they are charged as a misdemeanor or felony charge. In New Jersey, assault charges can refer to an attempt to cause, or knowingly or recklessly cause, bodily injury to another person; negligently causing injury to another person with a deadly weapon; or attempting to place an individual in fear or imminent injury by menacing them.
Penalties for assault charges
Penalties for assault charges can be significant and can also be based on how the accused individual is charged. This can impact if the accused individual is facing significant time in jail in prison. The accused individual can also face other potential penalties and consequences in additional to incarceration that can include fines and additional penalties. Individuals accused of assault in New Jersey may face up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Understanding criminal defense options becomes increasingly important when an accused individual is facing assault charges and criminal justice system. For that reason, accused individuals should be familiar with all of the criminal defense options available to help them.